Thursday, December 18, 2014

Follow us:
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to this news feed 


Dickey becomes first knuckleballer to win a Cy Young

  • Text size: + -

QUEENS, N.Y. -- It's been awhile since the New York Mets have had a Cy Young award winner but R.A. Dickey changed that and made history in the process.

Dickey was announced as the National League Cy Young winner on Wednesday, making him the first knuckleballer to win the award. He's just the third Met to win the award and the first since Doc Gooden in 1985.

Dickey received 27 of the 32 first place votes after going 20-6 this season in New York.

In the American League, David Price took home the award in one of the closest votes ever. The Tampa Bay ace received 14 of 28 first place votes just edging out 2011 winner Justin Verlander. ClientIP:, UserAgent: CCBot/2.0 ( Profile: TWCSAMLSP